top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenee Hougey

The First Few

Updated: Jan 21, 2021

The first few official scrolls I did, wondering if I was really ALLOWED to make award scrolls (hint: there are usually more assignments than scribes can get to. The more the merrier.)

Award: Barony of Nottinghill Coill's Golden Cord (service)

Recipient: Originally a blank, filled in for Tyra Jonsdatter

My first official scroll. I had no idea who it was for. I had no idea what part of the Barony the individual would be from. I incorporated the colors and primary charge of each canton. I thought I was using Uncial - I was not. It was definitely informed by 9th-12th century Scottish and Irish manuscripts, but there was no source.



Award: Barony of Nottinghill Coill Frayed Knot (Award for excellence as an autocrat)

Recipient: Caitriona inghean Ghiolla Phadraig

Autocrats herd cats. Her heraldry blue and white. I was amused by blue cats in period documents. Parts were based on contemporary documents with illustrative panels and acanthus leaves.





Award: Coill's Bells

Recipient: Lilly Rose

Second scroll









Award: Pewter Spoon

Recipient: Rose Ui Maille

Very simple interlacing, with attempted Uncial/Carolingian hand












Award: Coill's Bells

Recipient: Arwen

Ringereke style, with attempted Uncial/Carolingian hand








Award: Backlog AoA

Recipient: Isabella of Seareach

Waves based on acanthus leaves. Attempt at Textura Quadrata.








Award: Backlog AoA

Recipient: Kaolin inn Oarga

Attempt at Uncial/Carolingian hand.















Award: Golden Cord

Recipient: Rinn

Viking kitties, in Baronial, Canton, Japanese, and Scandinavian colors. Attempt at Uncial/Carolingian hand.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page