top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenee Hougey

Hildegard's Laurel Scroll

Updated: Aug 3, 2022


Ever just have a project you WANT assigned to you? Hildegard's work and willingness to teach - including coming to teach in my Canton - warmed my heart. The vibrant colors she wears, the shining embroidery she does, the sources she posts (usually with angels with multi-colored wings), the flowers she grows - it's a beautiful aesthetic that befits a beautiful person. In searching for sources for other scrolls, I ran across a Swiss abbey with the MOST vibrant glass, complete with rainbow-winged angels, and... it shouted "I belong with Hildegard!" As I completed other projects, it continued to say "I am Hildegard's! Make me for Hildegard!" Then she was Laureled, and someone else made her scroll.


But her husband contacted me months later, and said I'd been listed as the scribe in her in-case-of-peerage document, and she really wanted me to do her Laurel scroll, and could I possibly....

YES, can I do glass?


While I initially found the glass through other venues (specifically books on early 14th century stained glass), Museum Maargau has the BEST sources on the windows. The panels referenced are on page four of the PDF below.



The window was created with cathedral glass, lead came, Pebeo Vitrea paint, and pine framing finished with boiled linseed oil. I wrote custom words - glass scrolls require short text, and I wanted it to be heartfelt short text too.










3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page