top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenee Hougey

Scribal Panic

Updated: Dec 4, 2021


So... Scribal panic. I had just enough time to do justice to all of my assignments, and I had RUN OUT OF MY SUBSTRATE. I had lightweight pergamenata, procured by accident, and I had some black art boards because I LOVED chalk pastels on black when I was in college. So I tried my first Black Hours scroll, with my gold ink and the pointed pens I had. The gold ink, however, was too thin. It got up into the wooden holder that worked with the pointed nibs I had and rehydrated the inks in there. Blackish gold ink got everywhere (my phone case was stained for two full years, but I... honestly preferred it that way). More concerning, my pointed nibs just gouged the soft black paper - I could NOT use black. And I simply didn't have two days to waste until the substrate arrived. So I contacted my signet - do I wait? Or do I use my lightweight substrate that I can't really correct paint on? He said to use the lightweight substrate. Little did he know the scroll was for him. So I went with a bar and ivy scroll contemporary to his persona (this was before I started writing down all my sources). I did my best to paint him in his marshallate role. I did actual gilding (early days on that front). And though it was on light paper, I think I did well enough to do our signet proud.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page