top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenee Hougey

Laurel Wars 2020

Updated: Dec 4, 2021

In no particular order...

Opal for Lillith of the Glass Isles

Source: Book of Kells


So... I was a naughty scribe with this one. I blame Mistress Marion, who showed me an Asian-style scroll that had about 3 words on the front. She said technically, if the words were on the scroll (including on the back), it was permitted. This particular recipient had 3 of my scrolls in her home already, and I figured it'd be OK to take some liberties for scroll #4, and get the most illumination possible onto the page.


As a random note, I finished this scroll as my husband began reached 16 in the 20 second countdown to New Year's 2021.


This scroll had entirely handmade gouache, with sumi ink. Indigo, verdigris, Indian Red Earth (in place of red lead), titanium dioxide (in place of gypsum), Chromium Yellow Primrose (in place of orpiment). I stressed about the weird pink border - there isn't really a modern replacement for the pigment (because it is pH sensitive), so I used titanium dioxides, indian red, and ultramarine mixed.


Pearl for Marie-Helene of the New Forest

Source: Luttrell Psalter.


Winsor and Newton Gouache, Coliro gold watercolor, Sumi ink?


The Luttrell Psalter is contemporary and local to the recipient's persona, and had marginalia that suits her quirky sense of humor, as well as featuring cooking. Her dear cat Romi, who came to many an event, passed while I was making the scroll. He appears twice.

Golden Cord for Lillith of the Glass Isles

Source: Urb Lat 1, Fol 55v


I got very hung up on this scroll, and this is the third attempt with this exemplar. I had spilled ink on the original, which was going to be more personalized The cock-eyed ornamentation down below still bothers me, but it was closing in on a year late. Winsor and Newton Gouache, walnut ink, egg white glair, and gold leaf. There are 10 pinecones on this scroll, with individual scales - I can't see them without a magnifying glass.




Golden Cord for Morcant Le Du

Source: Harley 4431, fol. 106


First scroll with iron gall ink, and first scroll with gouache. I wish I had excised the painting to put on a fresh sheet with new calligraphy instead of excising the ruined calligraphy. This was the third attempt at making this scroll (see above: I spilled ink on husband and wife scrolls hours before I was due to deliver them.)


Order of the Quintain for Eachann de Barde

Source: Murthly Hours


I was into the "groove" of drafting the illumination on the back by this point. Still some major problems with keeping the calligraphy consistent, but overall, I think it turned out well.




Opal for Sophia Dolgorukaia

Source: Additional 22413 f. 71 (who named that one?)

This was one of the most difficult of the Laurel War entries. Homemade gouache, Coliro gold mica watercolor, walnut ink.












Yew Bow for David or Stierbach

Source: MS M 638, 32v (Morgan Picture Bible)


Winsor and Newton Gouache, walnut ink, sumi ink, red bole, fish glue, gold leaf. Words by Master Hagar the Black. There are 4 scripts on this scroll, with herald's affirmation being unreadable in English, as he did not have registered arms, and no information was available regarding whether he wanted them. This scroll was particularly challenging, and I learned a lot about water-gilding.






18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page