top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenee Hougey

First GoA Level

Updated: Feb 6, 2021


Order of the Pearl (GoA level Arts and Sciences polling order) for Baroness Delia Flammen. Getting this scroll assignment was sobering. Delia is a fabulous leather and metal worker, and also a skilled painter, and I was shocked that she hadn't already received this award. I know the approval process for the Pearl, from "this person SHOULD get this" to the person getting it, is roughly 6 months to a year (assuming the Pearls agree when the polling comes up), but Delia's been known for beautiful A&S works for years.


Delia plays a Roma persona, but Romani documents were incredibly sparse in illumination. I wanted the highly ornamented feel, and my favorite medieval scribe is Taddeo Crivelli. This was my second Crivelli scroll and first GoA level scroll. I was honored to work on this one, AND it was a lot of fun. There were a few pigment mis-steps that I can avoid in the future (chromium yellow primrose, I'm looking at you), but I made most of the paints. The next time I do a Crivelli scroll (and there will be a next time - I love me some Crivelli), I will use walnut ink or gold for the flourishes, and a more golden yellow. Some of the pigment alterations were intentional, such as using a lot more Indian Red than Alizarin Crimson, as a nod to Roma history.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page